Software Quality Assurance & its lifecycle

software quality assurance

Software quality assurance

  • Software Quality Assurance & its lifecycle is a process that ensures that developed software meets and complies with defined quality specifications.
  • SQA is an ongoing process within the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) that routinely checks the developed software to ensure it meets desired quality measures.
  • Software quality assurance helps to ensure the development of high-quality software.
  • SQA practices are implemented in most types of software development, regardless of the underlying software development model being used.
  • The SQA incorporates and implements software testing methodologies to test software.
  • Rather than checking for quality after completion, SQA processes test for quality in each phase of development until the software is complete.
  • With SQA, the software development process moves into the next phase only once the current/previous phase complies with the required quality standards.
  • Software quality assurance & its lifecycle has various phases.

Phases of SQA life cycle

In each phase of SDLC, the SQA activities are as follows:

I. Software initiation phase:

  1. SQA should be involved in writing and reviewing the management plan to ensure that processes, procedures, and standards identified in the plan are appropriate, clear, accurate, and verifiable.
  2. During this phase, also SQA provides the quality assurance management plan.

II. Software requirements phase

During this phase, SQA makes sure that software requirements are complete and testable, and properly express as functional, performance, and interface requirements.

III. Software design phase:

SQA activities during the design phase include:

  1. Ensuring compliance with approved design standards as specified in the management plan.
  2. Assuring all software requirements are covered in software components.
  3. To ensure interface control documents are consistent with the standard form and content.
  4. To ensure that allocated modules are including in the detailed design.

IV. Software implementation phase:

SQA activities during the phase of implementation include checking:

  1. Software development plan contains results of coding and design activities including schedule.
  2. Status of all deliverables.
  3. The activities of configuration management and software development library.

V. Software integration and test phase:

  1. SQA activities during the integration 131-lase and testing include is a Test preparation and checklist of all the testing deliverables.
  2. Ensure that all tests are performing according to test plans and procedures.
  3. Ensure that test reports are complete and accurate.
  4. Certifying that the test is complete and the software and documentation are ready for delivery.

VI. Software operations and maintenance phase:

During this phase, there will be mini-development cycles to improve or correct software production-related bugs reported by the end-users.

Read more about Software re-engineering